Home | About | Illinois Coal Mining | Contact | Facebook logo
seperator decorative top bar

Coal & Coal Mining
History & Genealogy

seperator decorative bottom bar
Champaign County, Illinois
Featuring Coal Mining
      Champaign County is a county located in the central part of the state of Illinois.
40.14° N, 88.20° W
As of 2000, the population was 53,196 and in 2010 the population was 53,873.
The county seat is Urbana, Illinois.
Champaign County was organized in 1833,from Vermilion County.
      Champaign County has twenty-nine townships:
            Ayers, Brown, Champaign, Colfax, Compromise, Condit, Crittenden, Cunningham, East Bend, Harwood, Hensley, Kerr, Ludlow, Mahomet, Newcomb, Ogden, Pesotum, Philo, Rantoul, Raymond, Sadorus, Scott, Sidney, Somer, South Homer, St. Joseph, Stanton, Tolono, Urbana,
      Some of the cities, towns, villages and communities are :
Bondville, Broadlands, Champaign, Fisher, Foosland, Gifford, Homer, Ivesdale, Lake of the Woods, Longview, Ludlow, Mahomet, Ogden, Pesotum, Philo, Rantoul, Royal, Sadorus, Savoy, Sidney, St. Joseph, Thomasboro, Tolono

Sydney Coal Mine
The legal description lists this as :    Champaign County -
Township 18 North, Range 10 East, Section 16
A Shaft Mine
Mine Name Operated By Years
Sydney Coal Mine   Sydney Coal Company   circa 1885
[Sources - Nos. 1 Index #6399]

Sources :
1 Coal Mines in Illinois, Champaign County
                Illinois State Geological Survey, 615 East Peabody Drive, Champaign, IL. 61820

Coal & Coal Mining in Illinois

Site Meter

© 2013 - 2015    Wayne Hinton